Saturday, June 10, 2017
Sand Springs Lake Park

One of the longest-running events in Sand Springs, the Sand Springs Kids' Fishing Derby was started by the Sand Springs Parks Department in 1991.

The event is a catch-and-release style tournament hosted at the historic Sand Springs Lake. Woody's Bait and Tackle has provided all the live bait since the derby's inception.

The derby has maintained its traditions well. For a quarter of a century, the rules and awards have never changed. There's a prize for largest and smallest fish, largest turtle, and the top-three largest fish in each age division. 

In 2004 Shane Harrison won his fifth-straight first-place trophy with an 8-pound, 2-ounce channel cat. 

In 2005 Shane Harrison won his sixth-straight first-place medal in his final year of eligibility. 

2006 marked the first year that the lake was stocked with catfish and bass prior to the derby.

American Legion Post 17 was the primary sponsor from 2009-2012.

Church That Matters took over hosting duties in 2012 and their Holy Smokers BBQ team grills hot dogs for the crowd. They have stocked the lake each year before the tournament.

Attendance by year:
2017: 300
2016: 200
2010: 225
2009: 200
2004: 75 (Heavy rains)
2003: 192
2000: 106

2017 winners: 
Biggest Fish: Caden Worthington (3.2 lbs)
Smallest Fish: Ashton Reed (0.9 oz)
Biggest Turtle: Michael Lee (4.6 lbs)
Turtle Race: Michael Lee
4-6 year old
1. Ty Galloway
2. Jaxon Trammel
3. Cannon Ozark
7-9 year old
1. Caden Worthington
2. Carson Simmons
3. Blake Norton
10-12 year old
1. Timmy Potter
2. Brooklyn Taber
3. Andreas Garcia

2016 winners:
Biggest Fish: Myles Bradford
Biggest Turtle: Talan Ozark
4-6 year old
1. Miguel Wilkins
2. Madison Matthews
3. Tyson Kelley
7-9 year old
1. Myles Bradford
2. Peyton Morris
3. Braysen Zickefoose
10-12 year old
1. Dallas Elifrits
2. Ti Swasho
3. Alexis Potter

2009 winners:
Biggest Fish: Trace Fleischman
Other winners: Caitlynn Foster, Shane Knight, Michael Reed, Dash Fleischman, Chris Williams, Zack Lowe, Riley McGee, Bailey Losh, Summer Lewis, Savannah Brayman, Spencer Wright, Noah Lehew, Colton Coyle, Kaleb Nichols, Hunter Rotrammel, Ryker Hufa, Sean Kuenn, Dayne Campfield.