Youth Wrestling: Sandites crown eleven champions at Claremore Invitational


The future of Sandite wrestling is looking as bright as ever as the 2017-2018 youth wrestling season kicks off. A few weeks into the season, the Sandites have had strong showings at each tournament with several first and second place finishes.

The Sand Springs Team Big wrestling club crowned eleven champions at this past weekend's Claremore Youth Invitational and had seven runners-up. 


Michael Johnson (4-0) took first place in Division Four at 64 pounds. He pinned Jackson Martin in 1:33 and Simon Hartline in 0:22, and scored decisions of 6-0 and 4-0 against Jagen Jones and Iziah Tusler, respectively. 

Bentley Furr (4-0) took first place in Novice Division Two at 64 pounds. He pinned Hayden Smith in 23 seconds, Mateo Baldez in 2:29, and Colton Waldon in 28 seconds before scoring a 9-4 decision against Zavier Campion in the finals.

Chris Kirby (3-0) pinned Veronica Cooper in 22 seconds and Jose Flores in 24 seconds before scoring a 16-1 tech fall over Jonathan Gatz in the Division Five 155-pound finals.

Clayton Giddens (3-0) breezed through Division Four, pinning Joaquin Moralez in 2:48 and Keith Sanders in 3:52 before teching Dylan Abbott 18-3 in the finals.

Jaxon Grigsby (3-0) won Division Three at 58 pounds in dominating fashion. He pinned Owen Kiesel in 1:20 then teched Zane Filtz and Ty Michael Clark 15-0 each. 

Blayton Collins (3-0) took first place in Novice Division Two at 61 pounds with a thirty-second pin of Hunter Belcher and a 12-4 major decision against Maleah Zinn.

Owen Martin (2-0) took first place in Division Five at 84 pounds, pinning Korbyn York in 1:52 and teching Julian Briones 17-2. 

Skyler Wood (2-0) took first place in Novice Division Three at seventy pounds with a 1:57 pin of Edward Jones and a 15-2 major decision against William Laffoon.

Kasen McAffrey (2-0) won Division Two at 70 pounds, pinning Noah Boulware in fifteen seconds and Ethan Starks in 3:29. 

Rollin Fish (2-0) won Division One at 66 pounds, defeating David Tusler 13-9.

Connor Beals (2-0) won Novice Division Three at 76 pounds, pinning Mia Adams in 2:41 and scoring a 14-6 major decision against Bobby Brockman.


Abraham Flores (2-1) took second place in Division Four at 120 pounds. He pinned Adrian Flores in 0:32 and Cameron Braswell in 0:21 but fell 2-0 to Blake Gilkey of Collinsville.

Carter Wood (2-1) pinned Josiah Moss in seventeen seconds and Caiden Estrada in 24 seconds, but fell 9-0 to Mason OBanion in Division Two at seventy pounds.

Ethan White (1-1) was majored 10-0 by Nathan Dekker in the Division Five 134-pound bracket, but pinned Thomas Moralez in 2:14 for second place.

Zander Grigsby (1-1) pinned Kynndrick Brooks in 3:31 but fell 2-0 to Bryson Humphries in the finals.

Ethan Starks (1-1) competed in Division Two at seventy pounds and teched Noah Boulware 18-3 before falling to teammate Kasen McAffrey.

David Cline (1-1) placed second in Novice Division Three at eighty pounds, edging out Drake Blue 6-5. 

Taytum Parker (1-1) placed second in Novice Division Two at 52 pounds with a pin of Tucker Daniels in 1:19.

Consolation Champions

Mitchell Smith (4-1) took third in Division Four at 84 pounds. He pinned Jim Watkins in 1:50 and defeated Jaxson Humphries 6-2 before falling 6-3 to Blade Walden. In the consolation bracket he pinned Dayton Moison in 44 seconds and repeated against Humphries with a 10-7 decision.

Robert Burke (3-1) took third in Division Three at seventy pounds, pinning Jace Simms in 1:55 and teching Aaron Wyrick 20-5. His lone loss was a close 7-5 decision to Daxton Sullivan. 

Asher Giddens (3-1) competed in Division One at 46 pounds. He defeated Rowden Benavidez twice, once in the first round and once in consolation. He was pinned by Parker Ingram but scored an 11-0 major decision against Kyson Buckner and a 9-0 major decision against Venvidez to win consolation.

Matthew Moore (2-1) competed in Division Three at 64 pounds. He defeated Jack Hooe 5-2 and Jimmy Groden 9-0.