Friday is the primary registration deadline! Here's a look at the Sand Springs ballot

By: Scott Emigh, Editor-in-Chief

Friday, June 3rd, is the final day to register to vote in the June 28th Oklahoma primary elections. Voters have until then to register to vote, change their address, or update other registration information before the Statewide primary.

Voters must either register in person, or mail their registration forms and have them postmarked before the deadline. Per Oklahoma voting law, registered voters cannot change their party affiliation between April 1st and August 31st during even-numbered years. Both the Democratic and Libertarian Parties have opened their primaries to Independent voters this year, but only registered Republicans can vote in the Republican primary.

More than 400 candidates have filed for office in Oklahoma this filing period, more than in any presidential year in recent history, according to Oklahoma State Election Board Secretary Paul Ziriax. This is also the first year that the Libertarian Party has been officially recognized in the State of Oklahoma, meaning voters now have four registration options. 

Incumbent United States Senator James Lankford has the Republican nomination secured with no challengers, as does Democratic nominee Mike Workman. Libertarian voters will choose between Robert T Murphy and Dax Ewbank for their candidate. There are also two independent candidates: Sean Braddy and Mark Beard.

Current Congressional District 1 Representative Jim Bridenstine is up for reelection and is challenged by Tom Atkinson and Evelyn L. Rogers for the Republican nomination. No Democrats filed for the race. The winner of the Republican nomination will square off against Independent David Matthew Hullum. 

Sand Springs City Councilman Brian Jackson is challenging incumbent State Senator Dan Newberry for the District 37 Republican nomination, as is Paula L. Patterson. 

District 66 State Representative Jadine Nollan has one challenger in Emily G. DeLozier for the Republican nomination. Dianna Phillips, wife of former City Councilman Michael Phillips, has the democratic nomination locked up.

Donald Newberry, Ron Phillips, and Mary Atkinson are running for County Court Clerk as Republicans.

Rex Berry and Arthur Jackson are vying for the Democratic nomination for County Sheriff. Vic Regalado, the incumbent from Sand Springs, is being challenged by Russell Crow and Luke Sherman for the Republican nomination for County Sheriff.

Michael Willis and Nancy Rothman are running for the County Clerk nomination from the Republican party.

Deanna Vincent is challenging Karen Keith for the Democratic nomination for County Commisioner District No. 2. Jonathan Grable and Sand Springs's Josh R. Turley are running for the Republican nomination.