Youth Wrestling: Thirteen Sandites win gold at Berryhill Tournament

Thirteen members of the Sand Springs Team Big wrestling club won first place medals at the recent Berryhill youth tournament in Tulsa. 

Division Five

Wyatt Meredith (6-3) won the 92-pound bracket by pinning Ethan Smith (Berryhill) in 27 seconds and winning a 13-3 major decision against Kyler Tabor (Berryhill).

Sammy Naugle (2-2) lost his first two matches to Hunter Waits (Berryhill) and Elijah Hynes (Broken Arrow), but pinned Cameron Pritchard (Bristow) in 3:21 and won a 6-3 decision over Destiny Smith (Sperry) for third place at 113 pounds.

Division Four

Zander Grigsby (5-4) won the 67-pound bracket and barely even spent a minute on the mat. He pinned Colton Ganaway (Jenks) in nineteen seconds and Beau Canfield (Bristow) in 54.

Abraham Flores (13-3) won his fourth tournament of the year at 110 pounds. He pinned Colton Hainzinger (Collinsville) in 1:30 and received a forfeit from teammate Adrian Flores (3-9). Adrian defeated Hainzinger 4-3 for second place.

Balance Johnson (5-0) won the 140-pound bracket with a pair of falls. He pinned Micco Jones (Sapulpa) in 4:20 and Blake Postoak (Berryhill) in 1:20.

Mitchell Smith (8-3) placed second at eighty pounds. He pinned Ryan Cantrell (Cleveland) in 2:34 and Carson Leach (Collinsville) in 2:33 before falling 7-0 to Hudson Henslick (Collinsville).

Division Three

Matthew Moore (13-2) won his second-straight tournament at 64 pounds. He majored Joey Bish (Berryhill) 9-0 and won 8-2 and 11-4 decisions against teammate Tanner Copeland and Aydin Machado (Cushing) respectively.

Ayreson Reiss (4-0) won the 67-pound bracket, majoring Luke Shaffer (Collinsville) 10-1 and teammate Colt Cothran (6-15) 11-2, pinning Mason Lapham (Owasso) in 1:49, and scoring a 6-2 decision over teammate Brody Wilson (2-5). Wilson placed second, pinning Shaffer in 0:42 and defeating Cothran 6-4. Cothran came in third, pinning Lapham in 2:46 and defeating Shaffer 9-6.

David Ritchey (6-2) drew only one competitor at 73 pounds, and won the best-of-three series against Mason Moore (Owasso) for his second-straight tournament title. He majored Moore 12-4 and pinned him in 2:34.

Kaden Pope (8-2) had the most impressive run of the tournament, winning the 61-pound bracket entirely by fall. He pinned Matteo Carrasco (Collinsville) in 51 seconds, Connor Cox (Ponca City) in 43 seconds, and Isaiah Carrasco (Collinsville) in 32 seconds.

Jaxon Trotter (13-4 Division 3, 4-3 Division 4) won the 100-pound bracket, defeating Aiden Petitt (Broken Arrow) 15-0, Kole Lamont (Broken Arrow) 8-6, and Zachary Fischer (Jenks) 17-1. He also placed second in Division Four, pinning Gage Smith (Berryhill) in 3:34.

Jaxon Grigsby (10-3) came in second at 55 pounds, pinning Conner Krajicek (Owasso) in 1:13 and Tucker Alberty (Sapulpa) in 1:26 before falling 4-0 to Mason Burnham (Catoosa) in the finals.

Division Two

Kasen McAffrey (9-0) won his fourth-straight tournament at seventy pounds. He defeated Max Harland (Berryhill) 5-2 and pinned Payson Robinson (Sapulpa) in 2:56.

Promised Johnson (5-1) placed second at 75 pounds. He pinned Eli Montgomery (Berryhill) in 48 seconds and won a 22-7 tech fall over Caiden Estrada (Sperry) but fell 6-4 to Carter Wood (Berryhill) in sudden victory overtime.

Novice 4

Ramone Sparks (9-1) placed second at 92 pounds, defeating Gunner Boulware (Broken Arrow) 9-6 and pinning Konnor Kaul (Jenks) in 2:47 before falling 7-1 to Seth Friday (Jenks).

Novice 3

Isaac Sensintaffar (3-0) took first place at 76 pounds, pinning teammate Connor Beals (12-7) in twenty seconds and winning a 14-2 major decision over Mavrick Aunko (Collinsville). Beals placed second, defeating Aunko 9-6.

Tanner Copeland (2-2 Open, 3-0 Novice) won the 64-pound bracket handily, pinning Blayton Collins (Sand Springs) in 1:41 and Jake Patterson (Catoosa) in 0:52, and majoring Landon Dodd (Sperry) 10-2. He also placed third in Open, pinning Joey Bish (Berryhill) in 22 seconds. Lane Bailey (9-1) placed third. He pinned Carter Meloy (Cushing) in thirteen seconds before falling 12-2 to Dodd. In consolation he majored Collins 12-1 and won a rematch with Meloy 13-6.

Novice 2

Griffin Sensintaffar (3-0) took first in the 55-pound bracket. He majored Daxton Iten (Broken Arrow) 10-2, defeated Trey Burk (Cleveland) 12-9, then defeated Jett Richards (Inola) 8-7 in an overtime tie-breaker.

Blayton Collins (15-10) placed second at 64 pounds. He received a forfeit in the opening round, then pinned Nathan Rickers (Woodward) in 2:43 before falling 7-1 to Kyler Walters (Kingfisher) in the finals.

Legend Johnson (2-1) placed second at 61 pounds, pinning Isabella Perea (Sapulpa) in 37 seconds and Brayden Grimes (Sand Springs) in 24 seconds before falling 6-3 to Keller Byrum (Jenks).

Tyler Feigenbaum (13-4) came in runner-up at 67 pounds. He majored Austin Halley (Bristow) 14-0 and topped Corbyn Smith (Broken Arrow) 9-5 in sudden victory overtime before falling to Erblin Morina (Bartlesville) in the finals.

Novice 1

Zayden Anderson (3-1) came in runner-up at 43 pounds, pinning Wyatt Bruce (Bartlesville) in sixteen seconds and winning a 15-7 major decision against Zane Robinson (Collinsville) before falling to Jerren Scott (Collinsville) in the finals.

Spencer Grimes (3-2) came in runner-up at 37 pounds. He pinned Tristan Gardland (Berryhill) in 0:49 and Dominic Campbell (Inola) in 1:41 before falling to Hutch Landrum (Broken Arrow) in the finals. Aubrey Holman (4-5) placed third. He was pinned in the opening round by Dillan Cantrell (Inola), but rebounded in consolation by pinning Dallas Williams (Bartlesville) in 0:56 and Campbell in 1:16. In the finals he won a rematch with Cantrell and prevailed 15-13 in sudden victory overtime.