CPHS Wrestling: Colton Roberts wins Inola Tournament, Junior Varsity places fifth

Chris Kirby placed second at the Inola Wrestling Tournament.

The Charles Page High School Junior Varsity wrestling team recently competed at a tournament in Inola and took fifth place in a field that included many varsity squads. 

Colton Roberts (9-2) took first place at 126 pounds, pinning Jacob Myers (Skiatook) in thirteen seconds and Ayron Lawson (Perkins-Tryon) in 5:35. In the finals he won an 8-6 decision over Blake Skidgel (Pawnee).

Chris Kirby (8-5) came in runner-up at 152 pounds. He pinned Ty Fixin (Tahlequah Sequoyah) in 4:53 and majored Reiley Lawson (Morris) 18-8, then received a medical forfeit from Jon McGowan (Hulbert). In the finals he was pinned by Whitt Fletcher (Vian).

Caden Vaughn (7-3) placed third at 113 pounds, winning three of his four matches by fall. He pinned Gavin Stuass (Hulbert) in 43 seconds in the quarterfinals before falling 9-1 to State Qualifier Jackson Cockrell (Broken Arrow). In consolation he pinned Bailey LaMont (Inola) in 2:36 and Tristen Butler (Stilwell) in 3:23.

Riley Magee (4-3) was fourth at 182 pounds. He pinned Noah Bennett (Tahlequah Sequoyah) in 4:24 and Jacob Surber (Bishop Kelley) in 4:00 before falling 8-3 to Kade Cato (Vian). In consolation he scored a 15-0 technical fall against James Ballinger (NOAH) in 5:49 but fell 3-2 in a tie-breaker against Zeke Rozell (Broken Arrow).

Preston Medlin (7-7) placed fifth at 145 pounds. He lost his opening match 6-4 to Kenny Scott (Okmulgee) in sudden victory overtime, but defeated Jayden Carlock (Stilwell) 9-3 and pinned Cameron Toothman (Morris) in 4:48 before falling 7-5 to Deion Mesa (Tahlequah Sequoyah). In the placement round he received a forfeit from Christian Jones (Vian).

Thomas Naugle (8-6) placed fifth at 160 pounds. He pinned Paine Suter (Morris) in 2:54 and won a 7-6 decision over Drake Leybas (Inola) before falling to Rustin Martin (Tonkawa) and Preston Ardery (Perkins-Tryon). In the placement round he received a forfeit from Brett San Miguel (Locust Grove).

Team Scores

  1. Broken Arrow Junior Varsity (208)
  2. Tahlequah Sequoyah (154)
  3. Perkins-Tryon (125)
  4. Bishop Kelley (118)
  5. Sand Springs Junior Varsity (114.5)
  6. Inola (110)
  7. 3A No. 5 Vian (110)
  8. Skiatook Junior Varsity (109)
  9. Locust Grove (105)
  10. Tonkawa (93)
  11. Pawnee (86)
  12. Hulbert (68)
  13. Morris (63)
  14. Pawhuksa (45)
  15. Okmulgee (31)
  16. Stilwell (26)
  17. NOAH (17)

Individual Champions

106 - Bryce Cockrell (Broken Arrow)
113 - Jackson Cockrell (Broken Arrow)
120 - Andrew Police (Broken Arrow)
126 - Colton Roberts (Sand Springs)
132 - Wesley Scott (Pawnee)
138 - Collin Elias (Bishop Kelley)
145 - Tony Johnson (Skiatook)
152 - Whitt Fletcher (Vian)
160 - Rustin Martin (Tonkawa)
170 - Kaleb Aguila (Inola)
182 - Taylor Fleming (Locust Grove)
195 - Tee Monk (Locust Grove)
220 - Alton Allen (Perkins-Tryon)
285 - Noah Wilson (Tahlequah Sequoyah)