CPHS Wrestling: Undefeated freshman Carter Young wins prestigious Kansas City Invitational

An injury-ridden and heavily depleted Charles Page High School wrestling team headed to the prestigious Kansas City Stampede this weekend and crowned an individual champion for the fifth-straight year at one of the toughest tournaments in the country. 

Freshman Carter Young (13-0) continued his undefeated varsity career with a first place finish at 106 pounds. He breezed through pool play with two pins and two technical falls. In the gold bracket he pinned Sammy Dickey in 1:20, teched Nick Cambria (Buford) 22-7 in 4:00, and scored a 13-7 decision over Zach Keal before shutting out Kansas State Qualifier Jason Henschel 7-0 in the finals. This is his second-straight tournament championship after sweeping the Perry Tournament of Champions last weekend.

Riley Weir (8-6 season, 70-24 career) lost his opening match at 120 pounds to Park Hill’s Ethen Miller, but snapped back with three straight pins before falling to Alabama State Champion Sam Latona in the gold bracket. In consolation he scored a 16-0 tech fall against Logan Adamson before falling in a rematch with Miller. He finished in twelfth place overall. Kai Orine (Seckman) defeated Latona 5-0 for first place.

Kaleb Tabor (4-4) pinned three of his pool opponents at 152 pounds, falling only to Kansas State Champion Cade Lindsey by a close 5-0 decision. In the gold bracket he won his opening match 6-5 over Joe Tyson, but fell 4-2 to Kansas State Qualifier Trevor Dopps and took twelfth place. Mill Valley’s Jarret Bendure won the bracket 8-6 over Edmond North’s Kruz Simons.

Gage Fain (7-4, 46-42) placed thirteenth at 220 pounds. He won two of his pool matches, falling to Tenenssee State Runner-Up Grayson Walthall, to earn his way to the gold bracket. He fell 9-3 to State Runner-Up Blake Minnick from Edmond North and 3-1 to Trenton Willert before pinning Zane Collinsworth in 48 seconds. Zach Elam (Staley) pinned Perry Ganci (Jesuit) in 26 seconds in the finals. 

Brendon Wiseley (6-5) went 3-1 in pool play to make the gold bracket where he took fifteenth place at 113 pounds. He won his first three matches, including a 7-0 decision over Kansas State Qualifier Austin Keal, before falling 15-2 to Missouri State Qualifier Trey Crawford. He lost his first bracket match to State Runner-Up Garrett Steidley and fell 2-0 to Kansas State Qualifier Silas Pineda but snapped back in the placement round. He took a 12-0 lead over Kansas State Qualifier Ethan Hill before pinning his foe at the 3:42 mark. Logan Ashton (Buford) defeated Park Hill’s Trey Crawford 8-6 for first place.

Dayvon Taylor (7-8) won his first match by pin and received a forfeit before falling to a Missouri State Qualifier and a Georgia State Runner-Up. In the silver bracket he won three-straight, including two pins, before falling in the finals. He was runner-up in silver, or eighteenth overall at 170 pounds. Troy Fisher (Goddard) won the bracket 3-1 against Rocky Elam (Staley).

Scott Patton (8-8, 15-10) got off to a tough start at 138, losing his first two matches to a pair of Missouri State Qualifiers, but won his next four matches. In the silver bracket he defeated Mason Hedgecorth 8-5 and pinned Gunner Murphy in 21 seconds before falling 6-2 to Cayleb Atkins. He took fourth place in silver, or twentieth overall.  Luke Surber (Tuttle) won the gold bracket 8-3 against Kyle Prewitt (CBC).

Irwin Portillo (8-7, 14-12) competed at 132 pounds and took 23rd Place overall. He went 2-2 in pool play and 3-2 for seventh place in the silver bracket. He only lost to State Qualifiers, and defeated Christian Robinson 4-2 in the placement match. Jevon Parrish (Olathe North) won the bracket 3-2 against Thompson’s Gabe Hixenbaugh.

Seth Jones (8-7, 10-10) competed at 126 pounds and went 2-2 in pool play, placing him in the silver bracket where he went 2-3. He forfeited his final two matches and settled for eighth place in silver, or 24th Place overall. Cameron Fusco (Seckman) won the gold bracket with a 5-2 decision over Whitfield’s Mike McAteer.

Mill Valley’s Conner Ward won the 145 bracket 7-0 against Blaine Bergey of Buford. Tuttle’s Dustin Plott won the 160 bracket 7-4 against Mason Reinche (Baylor). Park Hill’s Devin Winston pinned Joseph Williams (Neosho) in the 182-pound finals. Donovan Benetti (Nixa) won the 195-pound bracket 7-6 against Zach Hazen (Blue Springs). Max Darrah (Whitfield) defeated Neosho's Adrian Hitchcock in an ultimate tiebreaker for the heavyweight title.

Sand Springs senior and defending tournament champion Payton Scott was unable to defend his title and will likely miss the entire season due to a hand injury. 

Sand Springs will return to action Tuesday when they travel to No. 14 Stillwater (0-4) in their last dual before Christmas Break.