College Football National Championship trophy makes stop in Sand Springs

The official 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy made a surprise stop in Sand Springs Saturday, on display at Walmart for a few short hours.

The trophy was in Sand Springs for only two hours before making its way to Skiatook. Walmart announced the visit via Facebook just 24 hours before the showcase.

Pictured is John Mark Griffith, owner of the Mark Griffith Funeral Home, in his game-day Sooner gear. 

The trophy is 25.6 inches tall, weighs 35 pounds, and is made of 24-karat gold, bronze, and stainless steel. The CFP trophy design was unveiled in 2014 to accompany the new playoff system. Ohio State University, the University of Alabama, and Clemson University are the only three teams to win the trophy.

Oklahoma has only three NCAA Division I teams.

The University of Oklahoma Sooners are currently ranked No. 7 in the Associated Press preseason poll and No. 8 in the American Football Coaches Association poll. The Sooners finished last season with an 11-2 record, ranked No. 3 by the Coaches and No. 5 by the AP. They went undefeated in the Big 12 for their second-straight Conference Championship, ending the season with a ten-straight win streak and a 35-19 Sugar Bowl victory over No. 17 Auburn. The Sooners are the only Oklahoma team to make the playoffs, falling 37-17 to Clemson in 2015. 

The Oklahoma State University Cowboys are ranked No. 10 in the AP and No. 11 in the Coaches poll. They finished last season ranked No. 11 in both polls with a 10-3 record. They went 7-2 in the Big 12 for a Runner-Up finish. After falling 38-20 to OU in their regular season finale they topped No. 11 Colorado 38-8 at the Alamo Bowl.

The University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane finished the 2016 season with a 10-3 record for second place in the American Athletic Conference West Division standings. They finished the season with three-straight wins including a 55-10 victory against Central Michigan at the Miami Beach Bowl.